Democrats should work with Trump on healthcare

I think that Trump might well be willing to focus on fixing the Affordable Care Act rather than repealing it if Democrats offered to work with him on a fix.  And the Affordable Care Act really does need some fixing. The alternative is what seems to be happening now, Trump deciding to work with the Freedom Caucus. What they want is to repeal the Affordable Care Act without any real alternative offered.

I am not sure that there is more than one other area where working with Trump in this way makes sense, but in terms of healthcare I think the other available choice is too horrible to let happen. As I write this I am listening to Maxine Waters say that Democrats should never work with Trump on anything. I think if that’s the approach that party leaders take the Democratic party is in big trouble nationally. I think that infrastructure spending also deserves this approach since it is something Democrats have been seeking for a long time but have been unable themselves to bring Republicans to support.

 

Leave a comment